Skip Navigation Documents in Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or higher to view,download Adobe® Acrobat Reader.
American Bank

About Us

Board of Directors

Headshot of David Cuthbertson

David Cutherbertson – Owner of True Homes, LLC (home builder), 2008 to present; Member and/or partial owner of multiple real estate holding/development companies; Start-up investor of American Community Bank from 1998 – 2009.

Headshot of  Randy Adcock

W. Randy Adcock – President & Chief Executive Officer, American Bank; formerly Business Banking Team Leader for Union County and Mint Hill, First National Bank; formerly Monroe City Executive, Yadkin Bank; formerly Senior Vice President and Monroe City Executive, American Community Bank; over 40 years of experience in the banking industry.

Headshot of Wes Hinson

Wesley S. Hinson – Partner, Hinson Faulk PA (law firm), 2012 to present; Member and/or partial owner of multiple real estate holding companies; B.A. in Political Science/History from University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC; J.D. from Campbell School of Law.

Headshot of Frank Howey

Frank Howey – Owner of Frank Howey Family Farms; Licensed real estate broker; Director of numerous community and statewide organizations; B.S. in Agronomy from North Carolina State University.

Headshot of Ben Russell

Benjamin H. Russell – Owner and President, Pinnacle Homes USA (home builder), 2004 to present; B.S. in Construction Management from East Carolina University.

Headshot of  Paul Stockey

Paul Stokey – Chief Financial Officer, Ironpeddlers (a heavy equipment company) and Limestone Products (a construction materials company) headquartered in Monroe, NC, 2006 to present.  Prior to his current position, Mr. Stokey was Director of Financial Planning at Duke Energy, Charlotte, NC, and spent 12 years at Coca-Cola Bottling Company Consolidated, Charlotte, NC, where he progressed from Senior Auditor to Manager of Cost Accounting and then to the Director of Supply Chain.  Mr. Stokey began his career as an auditor with First Citizen’s Bank in Raleigh, NC. He received a B.S. in Accounting from Wingate University, a Master of Business Administration from Queens University and holds a CPA license from the State of North Carolina.  In the past, Mr. Stokey has served on Wingate University’s Business School Advisory Board and as an Adjunct Professor in their MBA program.

Headshot of Dr. Walters

Dr. Ann G. Walters – Headmaster, Union Academy Charter School, Monroe, NC, 2013 to present; Director of Information Technology, Union Academy Charter School, Monroe, NC 2012 – 2013; Assistant Principal, Piedmont High School, Monroe, NC, 2006 – 2012; Member and/or partial owner of multiple real estate holding companies.  Dr. Walters received her Doctor of Education and Master of Arts degree from the United States Sports Academy, as well as Master of Arts and bachelor’s degrees from Wingate University.

Executive Officers

Headshot of Jennifer Harris

Jennifer W. Harris, Chief Financial Officer of the Bank, has 16 years of experience in finance and accounting with banks based in the Carolinas.  Ms. Harris most recently served as Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Horry County State Bank and its parent holding company, HCSB Financial Corporation, based in Loris, SC.  From 2002 to 2016, Mrs. Harris served in senior accounting roles, including Controller and Vice President, for four different banks located in Monroe, NC and Charlotte, NC.  In these roles, Ms. Harris supported executive management in various capacities from daily accounting entries and reconciliations to annual budgeting, and from SEC reporting to strategic initiatives and capital planning.  Ms. Harris began her career as an auditor for a public accounting firm located in Charlotte, NC focusing on financial institutions.

Headshot of Phil Presson

Philip M. Presson, Chief Credit Officer of the Bank, is a native of Monroe, NC.  He started his banking career in December 1979 with the previous American Bank & Trust of Monroe, NC, which later became United Carolina Bank after a merger in 1980.  Mr. Presson worked for United Carolina Bank for 18 years in Monroe as well as Southport, NC as a branch manager.  After that bank’s merger with BB&T in 1997, Mr. Presson accepted a job as a branch manager in Monroe with First Charter Bank and served in that capacity for two years.  In 2000, Mr. Presson accepted a job as a credit officer with American Community Bank in Monroe, NC and for the past 18 years, he has remained employed by that bank and its successors, including most recently as a Senior Credit Officer with First National Bank of Pennsylvania.

Headshot of Frank Aikmus

Frank Aikmus, Market Executive for Eastern Union County, has nearly 20 years of experience in financial services, having served most recently as a banker for First National Bank of Pennsylvania.  Mr. Aikmus is well-versed in all aspects of the commercial lending and underwriting process, business development, and management of lending teams as well as entire branches.

Headshot of Steve Barnes

Steven L. Barnes, Market Executive for Western Union County, has nearly 40 years of experience in financial services, having served as a banker and market executive for various banks in Indian Trail, NC for the last 19 years, including a decade of service as a banker for American Community Bank, Monroe, NC.  Mr. Barnes is well-versed in all aspects of the commercial lending and underwriting process, business development, and management of lending teams as well as entire branches.
Site Map